It’s moments like these you need less xp


I know I said that I wasn’t going to post until after Thursday, but after a conversation I had with a friend on AIM the other night I knew I had to slip one more in before the gaming session. Even if you’ve never heard the slogan (“It’s moments like these you need Minties”), you’ve probably had a similar thing happen to you.
As I am a Level 1 GM and have had no player experience, I go by books and what I can ask of series friends who GM or DM. The latter consists of usually inane questions that are usually answered in a single gaming session. We were discussing when to give out xp and when to let players level up, both of which I have learned are best done at the end of the adventure. But when he said that players should only level up once per adventure I got confused, and then I got it.
You hand out xp for an encounter, not for an enemy.
Sometimes you need them

Sometimes you need them

 So I was actually being a little too generous with xp, which now makes sense in the scheme of things. I think I have been playing to many computer games, particularly KOTOR where they hand them out per enemy and you level up fairly quickly.

I also found out why there is no space on the character sheet for putting xp, only the GM handles this. So basically, I have to tell the players when they level up at a time convenient for me. Both a good and a bad thing, I guess.

In other news, I am stilling waiting for my Clone Wars campaign guide and GM screen, both of which have had problems with the orders for. It’s moment likes these you need a credit card.

~ by katanageldar on April 29, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
