My new player Gary Stu


Apologies for the delay in posting. I’ve had a few Internet problems as my PC is tetchy at times with the wireless connection st my house. At least this computer is better than my old laptop which was, and still is, liable to reboot without warning if I so much as fart in it’s general direction. Consiuquentially I am anti-laptop due to the frustrations of many lost files.

So anyway…

The Saturday session didn’t happen, I cancelled it as my sister was coming down for a visit. When the day rolled around I spend the time I should have been gaming with nothing to do. I’m still not feeling 100%, but there’s no way I am cancelling the next one as, if everything goes to plan I will have four players.

The new player I met in a middle ages shop, we were kicked out (in a friendly way, I know the owner),  got talking and he’s coming to the gaming session on Saturday. I’ve had a few e-mails from him since then, and from what I am getting I am a little bit worried. He’s been giving his character so many good abilities and not to mention a troubled childhood that it’s made me think of the biggest pitfall in putting anything of your own into an established franchise: the Mary Sue or her male equvalent the Gary Stu. Or, as he’s also known as, Marty Stu.

From what I have read of this, a Gary Stu character can be a one-way ticket to Munchkin land. Yet I am not sure if I am in any danger of going there yet as I am still the person who knows the most about the game, but as a Level 1 GM that’s not really saying much.

I still continue to surprise myself by managing to “get” things at a much later date after I have read them. The latest one is attacks of opportunity, which I will have to explain one of these days. I’m still not competent with it though.

On an unrelated note, I’d like to have a little rant at the nature of the gaming manuals for the Saga Edition, as they seem to be the only gaming books under the sun to be not printed in A4 format. Now I agree that the art in this edition is far superior than the Revised Edition of which I have seen, but it’s more like a coffee table book than a gaming manual to the point where the dents and fingerprints on my book look rather unslightly. Not to mention the little Post It tabs I have to make for easy quick flipping.

Despite this, having an A4 book would be a little better as having it square means there’s less info on a page. Which also means more pages that need copying if you want to copy, and as far as I know GMs have a more than healthy relationship with their photocopier.  For one thing, you could fit more on a character sheet if it was A4. Maybe I should design my own as that’s what some GMs do, I heard…

P.S. Yes, I am a TV Troper but be warned they will ruin your life.

~ by katanageldar on May 16, 2009.

3 Responses to “My new player Gary Stu”

  1. You hit on the reason for the Saga book size, even if you didn’t realize it. They are “coffee table book” size to encourage Star Wars fans to pick them up for that purpose: as interesting books to flip through, rather than to actually use. Their shape is to be unique and appealing, rather than practical.

    As for character sheets, the official one can be found here: http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=starwars/downloads. A quick internet searches will lead you to a ton more options. You’ll even find some excel sheets that do some autocalculating for you. Definitely worth checking out.

  2. Maybe this is why I was willing to fork out the $80AU for it, not to mention the tiles, screen and other books that I got. I may do another article about how gaming leaves us rather poor in the pocket.

  3. Hobby costs are all relative. Compare the cost of RPG games to video games, and you are definitely. RPGs have nearly limitless enjoyment, with a single fixed upfront cost. Free video games offer that kind of reuse. You have to keep buying new ones to continue your enjoyment. Simply ideas apply to other hobbies, like model building. RPGs longevity is only limited by your imagination.

Leave a Reply

 
