So, I am leveling up…


While in the process of writing the second part of the final adventure for the campaign, I’ve come to a decision that I told my players at the last session. Since I have never played, I asked if anyone else wanted to GM so I could see what it was like from the other side of the screen. I had two volunteers, and I now have a character rolled up to play when I get back from Sydney.

I’m not retiring, I really like GMing in the interactive storytelling, even though I am more or less making it up as I go along. I sometimes feel akin to a film maker, yet I never see the film as it’s all in my head and the heads of the players. And despite the fact that it is based on a film franchise, we do have different visions of what we are seeing, even with my descriptions and music.

There’s also something I have quite not gotten used to yet with NPCs, though I guess it will change with experience. As I play all of the other characters, I have to say cliche things with total seriousness.  Like playing a Jedi and speaking of “disturbances in the Force” and farewelling players with “may the Force be with you”.

I have rolled up a character, a fourth-level female Falleen Noble/Scout to play after I get back from Sydney. But I am not sure whether they will play in the two week break that I am away.

Just a short post, I’m still finishing the adventure but I am getting better at doing them. It’s not as long and I know a few short cuts.

~ by katanageldar on June 27, 2009.

One Response to “So, I am leveling up…”

  1. One of the best things you can do as a GM is to step out from behind the screen and run a PC. It gives you a whole new perspective on the game. The experience is completely different when you are just one player, without the surrounding knowledge. I look forward to hearing how your experience goes and if you think its better or worse than being a GM.

    I personally prefer the GM side of things. It is really enjoyable to create the adventure framework and then watch how the players interact with it. It plays to my organizational strengths and lets me release my creative side in a very enjoyable manner. Playing always makes me feel confined and limited. I always find myself missing the chance to be something completely different every game.

Leave a Reply

 
