That’s a wrap, people!


This is my last post for what will be a few weeks; I’ll be in Sydney until the 12th which means I am missing two weeks of gaming. The group has decided to play without me for those weeks, which makes me pleased and nervous. Pleased that they will have to work out how to play without me holding their hands. Nervous as the one who will be guest GMing is nervous as well, but I have loaned her a few books and sent her a few pdfs that will help.

But I’ll get the verdict on that when I return, as right now I’m still riding the high from the last gaming session on Saturday. It was that good, and at times I felt like a film director, hence the title.

This is also the first time I will be able to post the plot I have been gambling on for the past four weeks. And I must say it paid off.

 The Plot

 It went like this: one of the PCs was kidnapped by the forces of my Big Bad, Dark Jedi chick Tanorana Czo. This was to spur the players into confronting the Big Bad, as they had to rescue the character. However, rather than have the player doing nothing while her character was MIA, I got her to play a spy that the Big Bad had sent to lead them to her hideout and kill one of the PCs when she was revealed as a traitor. (The player didn’t turn up and I had permission to kill his character, but I’ll say a few things about character death in another post)

Tanorana’s hideout was on Umbara, which I had precious little information on so I made it into my war-torn planet with air raids. The planet was also enveloped by the Ghost Nebula, which made things nice and interesting, and spooky, on the approach. Getting out of the city involved getting a commission from the ruler to go and find his son. There was a bit of travelling, a few battles and a journey through a deserted burnt out city where I held out where the people were until the last possible moment. There was also the Sith Academy, which I played a bit like a dungeon, including a few traps like a trash compactor and a Knights and Knaves style logic puzzle—which the players actually picked the right door for despite the fact they asked the wrong question!

But there was a little more than this, this adventure had a lot more role-playing than otherwise. I’d say Tanorana was a Star Wars equivalent to an evil cleric, she did experiments on people and kidnapped Force-sensitives to study them. As she was trying to make some sensitive to the Force without being born with that ability, because that was what was done to her. She killed her creator and it drove her to the dark side.

She managed to succeed in her experiments though, with the PC she had had kidnapped.

Yes, you heard correctly, I gave one of the characters a free feat and made her Force-sensitive. It’s all done in the name of drama though, as the PC has some seriously negative back story issues with the Jedi. The fan fic writer in me just couldn’t resist.

 The Atmosphere

 I have said Star Wars wouldn’t be Star Wars without the magic of John Williams, but I really tried to out do myself here in terms of music. It was actually some of the music that inspired some of the scenes. From the Revenge of the Sith soundtrack, I got “Palpatine’s Teachings” for the lead up to the Sith Academy as it was nice and ominous and I also used “Padmé’s Lamentations” for the entry into the city. I had planned on using “The Immolation Scene” for the PCs death, but as he wasn’t there he just spluttered and died. For the final fight, I had “Duel of the Fates” which I put on repeat as it was just too short. And for the final scenes in the campaign, which consisted of a funeral in the Ghost Nebula for the slain PC, I played the track from my favourite scene in my favourite Star Wars movie “The Rebel Fleet” which is just before the credits.

Which is probably why I felt like a film director, the last scene of the campaign felt oddly stage managed. Yet is it supposed to be like that? Are last scenes in campaigns meant to have filmic elements? I am interested in comments from the more experienced.

 When I return, I will be playing and the guest GMs will be covering the second year of the Clone Wars. And then, I will take them for the final year which will end with Order 66 and the formation of the Empire. I have the music for those scenes already planned in my head.

~ by katanageldar on June 30, 2009.

One Response to “That’s a wrap, people!”

  1. John Williams has done a lot of movies, and most of them have a signature style that is vaguely Star Wars-esque without being directly evocative of specific leitmotif. Consider Dracula 1978, as well as lesser known tracks from The Towering Inferno, Superman, Raiders, Jaws, Willow, etc. Don’t use the main themes from these movies, which can pull you right out of the mindset,

Leave a Reply

 
