The times and trials of a generous GM


Don’t worry, I am getting to the next post about canon and gaming but it’s taking a little time, but I thought i might enlighten you about how I have spent that last month and a half without gaming.

That’s right, it’s been a month and a half. And somehow, one thing follows another in the fashion that they always do.

Firstly, I’ve managed to pick up some work and that involves working on weekends, including gaming weekends. I cannot count the amount of times I have sent a communal text message to players stating that the game was off. Then there were issues with transport and the players not showing up until a certain time, and that led to another cancellation. Then there was the part where the player who is hosting it asks to be finished so early that it’s better not worth having it at all.

Finally, he comes to me saying that he can’t host the game anymore.

Critical Fail

So, suddenly we were a gaming group without a venue, and consisting of only three players and that doesn’t include the DM of the 4E group as he seems to have disappeared into some sort of Bag of Holding.

I could talk about the hours I spent on the phone trying to find a place to suit our needs. I could talk about the irate people I talked to at churches to convince them to let us use their meeting room and then to get rebuffed when we were not part of their parish. And I could tell you how I managed to find a place, though at a pub and at a different time from normal, when I was told by one of my players that she could not turn up and can’t next week either when we would more than likely have a venue.

Hang on, I just did.

But I guess this explains the lack of enthusiasm I have had for blogging here in the last month and a half. I really don’t see us sitting down at the table again to play until at least the week after next. That’s almost two months between sessions!

At least there’s online, even if that moves like a slow snail.

~ by katanageldar on November 11, 2009.

One Response to “The times and trials of a generous GM”

  1. I feel your pain, but be grateful that you usually play more often than that. All my players have families, full time jobs, etc. etc., so we don’t game that often. Maybe once every 5-7 weeks, if we’re lucky. It really sucks, but we really cherish the time that we do get together.

Leave a Reply

 
