I don’t want you to buy me a diamond necklace


Note to self: when doing anything relating to gaming with kids in future, just stick to playing Munchkin.

Between Christmas and New Year I took a four hour train journey to visit some relatives, a trip that resulted in me getting Rich Burlew’s new book this year rather than last, and I brought out the core rulebook while with my young cousins.

Was it a mistake? Or wasn’t it? Either way, we all learned a few things and I got one of those GM’s special headaches.

When explaining the ways of the dice to the uninitiated, I always say that it’s an adult’s version of a children’s game. Now swallow this conundrum: it’s an adult’s version of a children’s game that children can play with adults.

Okay, I think I’ll give you a minute while your head feels exploding.

Better now?

Gaming for kids is, fortuntately, a little easier to explain. Particularly those who have played computer games (are there any that have not?). I said to them that it was like playing a computer game, but the GM is the game and the players play her…Right that just sounds dirty, I’ll move along now.

The kids got that, they also get and have a lot of fun with dice rolls once I explained penalties and bonuses and they understood the power of a Natural 20.

They also get roleplaying, though these two had a little trouble putting the two together. I seem to recall them doing either one or the other and having to be prompted to make relevant dice rolls. But the roleplaying parts were the funniest, such as a comment that came off the back of a natural 20 on a Jedi mind trick and a Jedi Padawan failing his Deception checks when lying to his Jedi Master.

The strangest thing was, I thought it was going a bit off due to the aforementioned headache, but the next day they wanted to play again. Such is the GM’s lot in life.

~ by katanageldar on January 8, 2010.

3 Responses to “I don’t want you to buy me a diamond necklace”

  1. Woow.. This is Great Story , I really Enjoy Reading This Post…

  2. […] doses, and it is surprisingly liberating and almost always fun, but it is rather draining. Remember those kids that I GMed for? They wanted to play “the Star Wars game’” and I ran it completely from the seat […]

  3. […] have talked about improvisation before, I even referred to this method in the previous post and earlier, but this is the first time that […]

Leave a Reply

 
