It may not look like much, but it’s got it where it counts…


Yes, you heard it right, the Level 1 GM is back in the chair. Except, why are all the other chairs empty? Where’s the dice? The screen? The map? The green sludge?

Well, it’s online, that’s what. It’s too early to comment on the game itself as I have only “GMed” it twice, and I am not going to reveal anything as you should know by now that’s not my policy. But perhaps I should make some comments in general about online GMing, I have said a few things about online gaming from the player’s point of view, now it’s time to look at the other side of the screen. At least figuratively.

But first…

You know, I never though that an image could inspire me into a campaign setting, but this one did…sort of. I knew I wanted to start the game in an asteroid belt, as the group is a Rebel cell and the Rebellion is known for its out of the way places. I also wanted a relatively small place to start the game so I could get used to the medium before doing some venturing out.

But then I saw this picture, got to it by way of Google Images, and saw that big asteroid and knew that’s where my Rebel base had to be.

So really, this is where I want to begin, as I have noticed that there is a rather different visual aspect to online gaming not occuring in actual table time. Most of the time, we are hearing each others voices and dice rolls, or at least my voice which is often how I get the GM’s Sore Throat as well as the GM’s Headache. But online, it’s a lot more visual as it needs to be. At the table I can use my voice to create atmosphere, as well as props, music, walk about in-character, but online there’s just the text and pictures, and that is it.

Posting the game rather than telling it is a little more difficult, as I have to take time to make sure my vision of the situation is being conveyed. I need to get everything out there quickly and at the same time not tell everything as I may as well be telling a story.

And I am beginning to think that this is an easy trap to fall into, particularly given my previous exploit. But, when you stop and reconsider it this is the exact same path that I went down when I started GMing. The difference is that not only I know how to thwart it, I have resources I can call on a lot and emulate, like the ENWorld game I am still involved with (the only one still going strong).

But this is pretty much where I have to stop myself, I know the road ahead and while I have revealed one small point about the game (see if you can find it above), that’s all I am going to do. I know the road ahead, I know where I want the game to go. How much I have planned you’ll just have to guess, as I am only going to relate my journey.

Just strap in, you’re in for a ride.

~ by katanageldar on January 17, 2010.

One Response to “It may not look like much, but it’s got it where it counts…”

  1. Good luck with the new game (and the new format). Good to have you back posting again.

Leave a Reply

 
