Stranger things have happened when I was planning…


If you’ve been keeping up to speed with what has been happening with the gaming group, then you would no doubt be aware of the falling out between myself and one of the players a few weeks back. I am glad to report that this has now been resolved, it was more a result of a bad week and some stubbornness rather than any long-seated resentments.

It’s actually rather strange the way that I came to this conclusion, it was while I was planning the next Star Wars campaign. It needed to start with a bang, with a raid on a Corellian Corvette and capturing Wookiee slaves who were going to be sold to the Empire…then I realised that I would need someone who could lead squads.

I’ve gotten to the stage where I know what to expect for my players, and to sort of unconsciously prepare encounters that I know that they will like.

To be honest, planning this now is a little crazy as between now when we have just finished the last campaign and when we are set to start this one I will be running the Tomb of Horrors. And I don’t know how long that is going to be as the module is still on it’s way. Maybe the longer I plan it, the better it will be. Who knows, at least no last-minute list at the table and a cobbled together ending.

And you may be wondering why I am actually letting this be known, as I rather like to keep the details of my campaign close to hand. I still am, but since the first encounter involves bringing back a certain Mr Bond, then I feel comfortable with letting the details be known.

Well, not all of them. Just what I choose to reveal. A GM needs her secrets.

~ by katanageldar on July 22, 2010.

One Response to “Stranger things have happened when I was planning…”

  1. […] it really been six months since I ran Star Wars? It doesn’t feel like that long ago when the last campaign ended rather […]

Leave a Reply

 
