Is it that time already?


While in the supermarket the other day, I couldn’t help but notice the Christmas treats and decorations up already. In mid-September, the Christmas creep sometimes makes me wish Hallowe’en was celebrated more widely here, and I wouldn’t say no to a Thanksgiving for the simple reason that it would give us several more holidays before drowning ourselves in tinsel and candy canes. Though I wouldn’t say no to some chocolate money at a game…

Anyway, why am I bringing this up? Well, the end of the year is usually a rather awkward time of the year in terms of scheduling anything. With that many parties, times for shopping, vacations and various other diversions that take place around the end of the year where there are so many public holidays it’s confusing. I thought that that time hadn’t come yet, at least not until around November. But it has.

One of my players told me that he could play two sessions, at the very most, before the New Year. Given that we’re merely two sessions away from finishing chapter 1 of Tomb of Horrors, I put the plans into ultraspeed and asked if players wouldn’t mind back to back sessions of ToH (as we’re all starting to call it) just so we can finish this dungeon with the current party. Yet it clashes with the fact that another player can’t attend either of these sessions. And she’s the cleric, and been NPCed by the same player ever since the second session.

So, in my dilemma in one of my key players missing from the final boss battle, I decided to go ahead. Though I have no idea how we’re going to make it. Hard enough with more than the average group size. One thing is certain, after this I am going to discuss with the group about who is able to remain long term. AS, if everything goes to plan, the next chapter I can run up until the end of this year with chapter 3, the one the players have been waiting for without knowing it, I’ll be running next year.

And epic it will be!

~ by katanageldar on September 27, 2010.

One Response to “Is it that time already?”

  1. […] mentioned this before, but as the end of November is drawing near I thought I’d give my readers a heads up as to […]

Leave a Reply

 
